Thursday, July 3, 2008

Republic India

The Indian Peninsula forms a rough triangle framed on the north by the world's highest mountains, the Himalayas, and on the east, south, and west by oceans. It is bounded on the north by China, Nepal, and Bhutan; on the east by Bangladesh, Myanmar (formerly known as Burma), and the Bay of Bengal; on the south by the Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar (which separates it from Sri Lanka) and the Indian Ocean; and on the west by the Arabian Sea and Pakistan. India is divided into 28 states and 7 union territories (including the National Capital Territory of Delhi). New Delhi is the country's capital.
Its topography varies from the barren dunes of the Thar Desert to the dense tropical forests of rain-drenched Assam state. Much of India, however, consists of fertile river plains and high plateaus. Several major rivers, including the Ganges, Brahmaputra, and Indus, flow through India. Arising in the northern mountains and carrying rich alluvial soil to the plains below, these mighty rivers have supported agriculture-based civilizations for thousands of years.
  • 5,000 year old ancient civilization.
  • 325 languages spoken & 1,652 dialects.
  • 18 official languages.
  • 29 states, 5 union territories.
  • The world's seventh largest country in area,
  • India occupies more than 3 million sq km (3.28 million sq. kilometers), encompassing a varied landscape rich in natural resources.
  • 7,516 kilometers – Coastline.
  • 1.3 Billion Population.5600 dailies, 15000 weeklies and 20000 periodicals in 21 languages with a combined circulation of 142 million.
  • GDP $576 Billion. (GDP rate 8%).
  • Parliamentary form of Government.World's largest democracy.
  • Worlds 4th largest economy.
  • World-class recognition in IT, bio-technology and space.
  • Largest English speaking nation in the world.
  • 3rd largest standing army force, over 1.5Million strong.
  • 2nd largest pool of scientists and engineers in the World.
  • The country is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, an association of political entities that once gave or currently give allegiance to the British monarchy.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...